Tourism Guide

Tourism Guide:


North and South Al- Batinah Governorate

Omanis compare Al- Hijr Mountains to the human backbone, so they call the Governorates, which lies on the Sea of Oman North and South Al- Batinah (lit. internal), and that lies west of the heights Adh-Dhahirah (lit. external).

North and South Al- Batinah Governorates are the beach formed by the Wadis (valleys) descending from the mountains, whose width varies between 15 and 80 kilometers. There are the main two agricultural governorates in Oman, not to mention the nearby mountains and glittering beaches. North and South Al- Batinah Governorates are distinguished by the presence of some rare trees, such as Al- Mashut in Wilayat Liwa and Ad- Dibaj in Wilayat As- Suwaiq.

Ar-Rustaq is the provincial center of the South Al- Batinah Governorate and Sohar is the provincial center of the North Al- Batinah Governorate. Sohar lies about 230km from the capital, Muscat. Sohar was the capital of Oman before the advent of Islam, known by the name of Majan. It is one of the most important Wilayats in North Al- Batinah Governorate and has been famous for producing and exporting copper for a long time.

In the fourth century AH (tenth AD), Al-Maqdisi described Sohar as “a thriving city with a large population and a beautiful city providing comfortable living. Its impressive residential districts spread along the beach, and its towering buildings are built with baked brick and teak wood.” "Sohar’s mosque overlook the sea and its towering minaret,” adding that what distinguishes the city is "its prosperous markets that attract shoppers’ attention and admiration.”

The Wilayats of North Al- Batinah Governorate are: Sohar, As- Suwaiq, Al-Khabourah, Saham, Liwa, and Shinas.
The Wilayats of South Al- Batinah Governorate are: Barka, Wadi Al- Ma'awil, Nakhl, Al -Awabi, Ar-Rustaq, and Al- Musanah.

Many places in both governorates attract tourism, such as:

 Sohar Fort:

Wadi Hibi:

Wadi Bani Hani:

Wadi Al-Hoqain:

Al-Khabourah Castle:

Liwa Castle:

For More Tourism Information Visit https://www.omantourism.gov.om

الدليل السياحي

الدليل السياحي

محافظة شمال الباطنة وجنوب الباطنة

يقارن العمانيون جبال الحجر بالعمود الفقري للإنسان، ولذا يسمون المحافظة التي تقع على بحر عُمان شمال وجنوب الباطنة، والمحافظة التي تقع في الغرب الظاهرة.

محافظة شمال وجنوب الباطنة هما الشاطئ المتكون من الوديان النازلة من الجبال بعرض بين 15 و80 كيلومتر، والمحافظتان الزراعيتان الرئيسيتان في السلطنة، ناهيك عن الجبال القريبة والشواطئ البراقة. تتميز محافظتي شمال وجنوب الباطنة بوجود بعض الأشجار النادرة مثل المشوت في ولاية لوى والديباج في ولاية السويق.

تعتبر الرستاق هي المركز الإقليمي لمحافظة جنوب الباطنة وصحار المركز الإقليمي لمحافظة شمال الباطنة وتقع على بعد حوالي 230 كم من العاصمة مسقط. كانت صحار عاصمة عمان قبل مجيء الإسلام، وكانت معروفة باسم مجان. وتعتبر صحار واحدة من أهم ولايات شمال الباطنة وقد اشتهرت بإنتاج وتصدير النحاس لفترة طويلة.

في القرن الرابع الهجري (العاشر الميلادي)، وصف المقدسي صحار بأنها "قصبة عمان، ليس على بحر الصين بلد أجل منه، عامر، أهل، حسن، طيب، نزه، ذو يسار وتجارة، وفواكه وخيرات. أسواق عجيبة، وبلدت طريفة، ممتدة على البحر. دورهم ممتدة على البحر. دورهم من الاجر والساج، شاهقة نفسها، ولهم آبار عذبة، وقناة حلوة. دهليز الصين، وخزانة الشرق والعراق، ومغوثة اليمن". كما وصفها الأصطخري قائلاً: "وهي على البحر، وبها متاجر البحر، وقصد المراكب، وهي أعمر مدينة بعمان، وأكثر مالاً. ولا تكاد تعرف على بحر فارس، وجميع بلاد الاسلام، مدينة أكثر عمارًا ومالاً، من صحار."

ولايات محافظة شمال الباطنة هي: صحار، والسويق، والخابورة، وصحم، ولوى، وشناص

ولايات محافظة جنوب الباطنة هي: بركاء، ووادي المعاول، ونخل، والعوابي، والرستاق، والمصنعة

وتوجد بهاتين المحافظتين العديد من الأماكن السياحية الجذابة مثل:

 

قلعة صحار:

وادي حيبي:

وادي بني هاني:

وادي الحوقين:

قلعة الخابورة:

 

قلعة لوى:

 

https://omantourism.gov.om